Regulations on explosives

The supply on the market, manufacture, storage, holding, sale, transport and use of explosives is subject to regulations. These are based on the following texts:

Definition and categorisation of explosives

Explosives are products which may be used for their explosive, combustible or pyrotechnic properties and are classified into one of the following classes and categories:

  • Category A: Explosive substances
    • 1st category: black powder;
    • 2nd category: dynamite and similar explosives;
    • 3rd category: smokeless powder;
    • 4th category: flame retardant explosives and similar explosives;
    • 5th category: damped nitrocellulose with a nitrogen level of over 12.6%;
    • 6th category: damped nitrocellulose with a nitrogen level of no more than 12.6%.
  • Category B: Ammunition
    • 1st category: detonators, and similar items and ammunition;
    • 2nd category: ammunition with detonators;
    • 3rd category: ammunition without detonators;
    • 4th category: phosphorous ammunition;
    • 5th category: detonating cord;
    • 6th category: safety ammunition.
  • Category C: Fireworks
    • Group a: spectacle fireworks and accessories;
    • Group b: festive fireworks;
    • Group c: fireworks for technical use and/or signal fireworks:

Whether explosives are used for entertainment, industrial or military purposes, they must necessarily comply with strict safety requirements and European standards. The General Directorate on Quality and Safety of the FPS Economy, SMEs, Self-Employed and Energy maintains supervision of the application and control of these standards.

Placing pyrotechnic items on market

An overview of the regulations for festive fireworks

Collection and storage of festive fireworks

Last update
4 April 2023

Most recent news related with this theme